Government Affairs

2024 KCMO Consensus Agenda on Economic Development


Transportation & Infrastructure Funding

We support both traditional and innovative ways to address transportation and infrastructure throughout Missouri, with fiscally proportional funding for the KC region. This includes funding for transformative projects and also expanded digital access. We believe in increasing funding for the Freight Enhancement Program and rail safety measures.

Workforce & Barriers to Entry

Missouri needs upskilling and an expanded workforce for the competitiveness of companies within the state. We support addressing the attainability of both childcare and early childhood education, addressing barriers to entry for individuals to enter/re-enter the workplace, training dollars, supporting apprenticeships, re-skilling, incentives for
retirees to return to work, Missouri One Start, A+ scholarships, second chance hiring, training for transitioning inmates, measures to enable Missourians with disabilities to better access the workforce, and reliable transit to work centers.


We support funding and regulatory reforms to support entrepreneurs and early-stage companies, specifically for under-emphasized areas and populations. This includes retaining the appropriation for LaunchKC, continued support for the R&D tax credit, “Right to Start” legislation with an office of entrepreneurship located at the Missouri Technology Corporation (MTC), creating an Angel Investment tax credit, building a downtown innovation district, and funding for MTC.

Competitive Economic Development Toolbox, Payment Bond, & Historic Tax Credits

We support continued state funding for assets in Kansas City which provide economic opportunity and benefit to Missouri. This includes continued funding for the Missouri Partnership. We support the creation or modification of impactful economic development tools. It is essential to increase state funding for mega site preparation, alter the payment bond requirement for certain development projects, and also to address the state’s historic tax credit process and scoring formula.

State Funding for Catalytic Projects

We support state funding for projects and large regional events that will become catalysts for economic development. We believe in the potential of projects such as the South Loop Link, 587 plan, the 2026 World Cup, Northland Streetcar expansion, the I-29 + I-35 intersection, Greenline Trail, UMKC Health Sciences District, Keystone Innovation District, Missouri River Terminal, and resources to bring an international flight to Kansas City.

Opposing Discriminatory Legislation

We oppose discriminatory legislation, which would detrimentally impact economic development and also Missouri’s ability to attract businesses, sporting events, tourism, & conventions. We believe an equity focus only strengthens Missouri’s ability to attract talent, grow jobs, and create a more vibrant state.


We support housing becoming a more prominent focus in Missouri to ultimately see increased development of housing that is affordable, safe, and quality for all Missourians. Permanent and transitional housing are both needed. We support policy to enable first time home buying, local home ownership, and also long-term affordability. Retaining and growing the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) is vital.

Local Decision Making

We support local decision making for incentive programs, local taxes, and local economic development issues.

Support for K-12 Public Schools & Higher Education

We support accountable public schools and public charter schools, and area school boards and their right to local control. We oppose efforts to divert state or federal funds meant for public schools. We support efforts to better compensate teachers for better recruitment and retention outcomes. We recognize the strong link between quality public education and a diverse world-class workforce.

2024 Consensus Agenda PARTNERS

  • City of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce
  • The Civic Council of Greater Kansas City
  • Platte County Economic Development Council
  • Kansas City Industrial Council
  • Visit KC
  • Downtown Council
  • Evergy
  • Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • University of Missouri - Kansas City
  • Kansas City Area Transportation Authority
  • Full Employment Council
  • PortKC
  • South Kansas City Chamber of Commerce
  • Clay County EDC
  • Dodson Industrial Association
  • Blue Valley Industrial Association
  • Northeast Industrial Association
  • Historic West Bottoms
  • Spire
  • Swope Industrial Association
  • The Builders, A Chapter of the AGC
  • Keystone Innovation District
  • Downtown Neighborhood Association
  • Planned Industrial Expansion Authority
  • Land Clearance Redevelopment Authority

Legislative Committee

EDC Representatives

  • Bridgette Williams – EDC Board Chair & Heavy Constructors Association
  • Dr. Makini King – EDC Board Legislative Chair & UMKC
  • Tammy Henderson –EDC Board or Directors & North KC Schools
  • McClain Bryant-Macklin – EDC Board of Directors & Health Forward Foundation
  • Tracey Lewis – President & CEO
  • Jim Erickson – Director of Strategic Initiatives

Partner Organizations

  • Reid Day - KCMO - Office of the Mayor
  • Megan Crook – KC Civic Council
  • Salvatore Panettiere – City’s State Lobbyist
  • Matt Roney –City’s Federal Lobbyist
  • Doug Stone – Lewis Rice & MEDFA
  • Teresa Martinez – VisitKC
  • Theresa Garza – Spire Energy
  • Zac Sweets – Evergy
  • Vickie Wolgast – South KC Chamber
  • Cathy Bennett - KC Chamber of Commerce
  • Pat Contreras – McCown Gordon Construction & KC Chamber KCMO Affairs Chair
  • Eric Bergrud – Park University & KC Chamber Missouri State Affairs Chair
  • Jon Stephens – PortKC
  • Bill Dietrich - Downtown Council
  • Terri Barr – KC Area Transit Authority
  • Mark Coulter – Rouse, Frets, White, Goss Law Firm
  • Clyde McQueen – Full Employment Council
  • Matt Haase – UMKC
  • Jenny Johnston – Northland Chamber of Commerce
  • David Slater – Clay County EDC
  • Tina Chace – Platte County EDC
  • Kamera Meaney – University Health
  • Lauren Palmer – Mid America Regional Council
  • Allen Dillingham – The Builders Association
  • Nate Maden – Health Forward Foundation
  • Tina Chance – Platte County EDC